Friday , 24 September 2021
Breaking News
President Goodluck Jonathan

FG amends National Conference’ delegates list

The Federal Government Thursday carried out some changes to the list of 492 delegates released last week for the proposed National Conference.

President Goodluck Jonathan is scheduled to inaugurate the three-month national conference next Monday in Abuja.

A statement by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, while announcing the changes to the list invited former Presidents and Heads of State, leadership of Political Parties, members of the National Assembly, State Governors, members of the Judiciary, members of the Federal Executive Council, members of the Diplomatic Corps, religious leaders and traditional rulers to attend the inauguration ceremony.

According to him, the number of delegates still remains 492.

The statement titled ‘Corrigendum on the National Conference Delegates List’ reads: “Following the release of the list of delegates to the National Conference, some updates, changes and adjustments have been effected as follows:”

On the Elder Statesmen list, Dr. Kunle Olajide from Ekiti State replaces Chief Afe Babalola, SAN.

For the Traditional Rulers list, His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ibrahim Yaro, the Etsu of Bwari replaces His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ismail Danlami Mohammed, Sarki of Karshi on the request of the National Council of Traditional Rulers of Nigeria.

Based on the request of the National Council of Women Societies of Nigeria, Mrs. Millicent Okoronkwo replaces Mrs. Love Ezema Women Group list.

On the list of Political Parties, the nominations of Chief Chris Ejike Uche and Dr. Sagir Auwal Maidoya to represent APGA were withdrawn to allow the Party resolve the issue of its nominees.

Amendments were also made on South West Geo-Political Zone under the Socio-Political/Cultural and Ethnic Nationality Groups with Prince Rabiu Oluwa replacing Supo Sonibare and Oba Kehinde Olugbenle replacing Barr. Niyi Akintola, SAN whose name is retained in the Oyo State delegates list.

For the National Academies list, Professor Layi Erinosho was nominated by the Academy of Social Sciences to fill the one (1) slot allocated to the Academy.

The statement also said that the former Governors Forum has nominated Alhaji Mohammed Goni from Borno State to fill the slot for the North East Geo-Political Zone under the former Political Office Holders (Former Governors) list.

It said that the following State Governments have submitted a nominee each to fill the vacant slot in their respective State’s delegates list: Delta State -Chief Isaac O. Jemide, Edo State -Prof. Eddy Erhagbe, Oyo State -Chief (Mrs.) Onikepo Akande, Rivers State -Chief Sampson Agbaru and Yobe State -Engr. Abubakar Buba Galadima all under the State Governments and FCT list.

Also on the list of delegates are Hon. Wole Oshun, Mr. Ledum Metee, Barr. Mike Ozekhome, Barr. Anthony Akika, Alhaji Sule Iyaji, DIG (Amb) Abdulmumuni M. Abubakar (rtd).
[The Nation]

About MetroLens

Check Also

FG Extends NIN-SIM Linkage Deadline By Eight Weeks

The Federal Government has extended the linkage of the National Identity Number (NIN) to Subscriber …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.