Saturday , 28 May 2022
Breaking News
Senate President Bukola Saraki

Bukola Saraki Emerges Senate President, Ekweremadu Emerges Deputy

Senator Bukola Saraki has been elected the President of Nigeria’s 8th Senate.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) Senator was elected unopposed with 57 lawmakers present voting for Saraki, while 51 were absent.

Senator Ike Ekweremadu has also been elected as the Deputy Senate President defeating Senator Ali Ndume.

Our correspondent, Linda Akhigbe, reports that some of the 51 senators who were absent during Saraki’s emergence have begun to trickle into the Senate chamber.

There has been a seeming crack in the All Progressives Congress (APC) after some lawmakers walked out during the party’s mock election to elect its candidates for the leadership of the two chambers of the National Assembly at the weekend.

The June 6 straw poll produced Mr Femi Gbajabiamila as the APC candidate for the House of Reps Speaker, while Ahmed Lawan emerged as candidate for Senate President.

The lawmakers supporting Senator Bukola Saraki for Senate Presidency and those supporting Mr Yakubu Dogara for the position of House of Reps Speaker, boycotted the elections.

The inauguration of the 8th National Assembly held in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory.


About MetroLens

Check Also

Proposed Fuel Price Increase: NLC Vows To Shut Down Economic Activities, Begins Mobilisation

Following the news of the Federal government’s plan to increase fuel pump price to N340, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.